NEWS
BERTA HUMMEL

THE OTHER BERTA
CURRICULUM VITAE

THE MUSEUM
EXHIBITIONS
SHOP
DOWNLOADS
LINKS
CONTACT
IMPRINT
BERTA HUMMEL'S COMPLEXITY REACHES
FAR BEYOND THE HUMMEL FIGURINES

Naturally people conclude from the delightful children's scenes that the artist, too, was always a cheerful person.

This interpretation was good for the marketing business. Berta Hummel became a "trademark." The complexity of her character remained unnoticed for many years.

Red Dahlias, 1929/30

Only upon viewing her artistic work during her entire life can the complexity of her rich character be appreciated: sensitivity and exquisite lines in her flower studies, robust humor in her caricatures, genuine affection in her children's pictures, a clever awareness of particular features in the street scenes and landscapes.

Massing, market square in spring, 1929

The energetic lines of the charcoal drawings and the freeness in her use of watercolor techniques show her artistic self-confidence and determination.

The Dog "Lord", 1929/30

Berta's lively interest in her environment is documented in numerous portraits done during her college years in Munich. These show relatives and friends as well as professional models at the art school - altogether a fascinating gallery of her experiences and proof of her powers of observation.

Lady in Red, 1930

It is astonishing that the artist who has become famous for her cheerful children's pictures is most effective and impressing in her portraits of elderly people. She portrays old age with deep empathy, but without an exaggeration.

Portrait Maximilian Dasio, woodcut 1930

NEUIGKEITEN
BERTA HUMMEL

DIE ANDERE BERTA
LEBENSLAUF

DAS MUSEUM
AUSSTELLUNGEN
SHOP
DOWNLOADS
LINKS
KONTAKT
IMPRESSUM
ANDERS ALS DIE HUMMELFIGUREN

Wie selbstverständlich hat die Nachwelt aus der putzigen Naivität der Kinderbilder auf ein stets heiteres Gemüt ihrer Schöpferin geschlossen.

Diese Interpretation ist ganz im Sinne der Vermarkter. "Berta Hummel" wurde zum Markenzeichen. Dagegen nahm man die Vielschichtigkeit ihres Charakters lange nicht zur Kenntnis.

Rote Dahlien, 1929/30

Erst die Betrachtung ihres künstlerischen Lebenswerks lässt die verschiedenen Facetten ihrer reichen Persönlichkeit ahnen. Feinheit und sensibles Gefühl für die Natur bei den Blumenstudien, robuster Humor bei den Karikaturen, liebevolle Anteilnahme bei den Kinderbildern, ein wacher Sinn für das besondere Detail bei den Straßenszenen und Landschaften.

Massing, Marktplatz im Frühjahr, 1929

Künstlerisches Selbstbewusstsein und Entschlossenheit äußern sich im energischen Strich der Kohlezeichnungen wie in der freien Behandlung der Farben bei den Aquarellen.

Der Hund "Lord", 1929/30

Bertas lebhaftes Interesse an ihrer Umgebung dokumentieren vor allem die zahlreichen Porträts, die sie in ihrer Studienzeit schuf. Es sind Bildnisse von Verwandten und Freunden sowie auch von professionellen Modellen der Kunsthochschule - insgesamt eine faszinierende Galerie ihrer Erlebniswelt.

Dame in Rot, 1930

Und ebenso ein Zeugnis ihrer scharfen Beobachtungsgabe. Bemerkenswert, dass die Künstlerin, die ja durch ihre heiteren Kinderbilder weltbekannt wurde, ihre höchste Eindringlichkeit in der Porträtkunst bei der Darstellung alter Menschen fand. Sie schildert sie voll Mitgefühl und dennoch unpathetisch.

Portrait Maximilian Dasio, Holzschnitt 1930