NEWS
BERTA HUMMEL
THE MUSEUM
EXHIBITIONS
RECENT EXHIB.
FORMER EXHIB.
SHOP
DOWNLOADS
LINKS
CONTACT
IMPRINT
THEMES, COLORS, FORMS. THE EXHIBITS

Berta Hummel's favourite activities as a child were painting and drawing. When Berta was fifteen, her parents fulfilled her greatest wish and presented her with her first oil color set.

Later she made use of a variety of techniques to find suitable forms for her large range of ideas. She quickly adapted to each technique, demonstrating repeatedly her many-sided talents. >>

Until she entered the convent she found her motifs close to home - her parents' home, the town and the surrounding countryside, her friends and neighbours, children playing nearby and people passing by.

Thematically her works can be divided into eight categories, as listed below. Her periods of creativity can also be placed in two time frames - her academic years and the time following her studies. The permanent exhibition in the museum shows works from each of these categories.

Portraits
Berta Hummel made a large number of portraits. They document her interest in and understanding of the people in her surroundings. She managed to paint not only a portrait, but a complete personality.
Floral and still-life paintings
Berta's flower and still-life paintings demonstrate again her ability to observe exactly. These paintings, mostly from her academic years in Munich, show accomplished ease, striking lines and vivid color contrasts, giving the pictures a highly personal note.
Children
Berta Hummel's child studies show her outstanding power of observation. They manage to describe the world of children both perceptively and affectionately. The lines drawn so sparingly in her late charcoal and pastel drawings made it easier to convert them into the well-known Hummel figurines.
Religious themes
Her entry into the convent marked a turning point, as she began to turn to more religious subjects in her work. There were many new tasks for her - pictures for religious services and Bible illustrations, sketches for textile designs (vestments, altar cloths and other textiles for church services), large sacred pictures and altar pieces.
Landscapes and town scenes
The majority of these works were done during her highly productive academic years in Munich (1927-31). The motifs - carefully composed town scenes and in-depth landscapes - were often from the town of Massing or from the Rott Valley. The colors show a well-balanced rhythm and compositions relate a fascinating interaction of straight lines an diagonals.
Caricatures
Unfortunately only a few of Berta Hummel's caricatures have survived, mainly small-sized graphics. Here the insight typical of her portraits combines with a subtle, often remarkably trenchant sense of humour. In the eyes of a girl aged 21 the world can perhaps seem rather a drastic place. Hummel's perception of the amusing aspect of certain situations sometimes foreshadows her later popular sketches of children.
Nude Studies
The study of the human figure is a classical subject of academic art. Berta Hummel's nudes belong to her study years in Munich. They fall into two main groups: anatomic and motion studies from nature, and a series of compositional sketches for the figures in her Stations of the Cross.
Applied Arts
The ideal of beautifying everyday objects by an artistic approach led to a new appreciation of craftmanship and applied art especially in Germany and England. Berta Hummel's works in this field illustrate serveral possibilities, including commercial signs and monogrammes, graphics for anniversary celebrations, and various designs for textiles from napery to children's mittens.

RECENT EXHIBITION

FORMER EXHIBITIONS

NEUIGKEITEN
BERTA HUMMEL
DAS MUSEUM
AUSSTELLUNGEN
AKTUELL
VERGANGENE
SHOP
DOWNLOADS
LINKS
KONTAKT
IMPRESSUM
ANSICHTEN, FARBEN, FORMEN. DIE EXPONATE

Malen und Zeichnen waren schon für das Kind Berta Hummel Lieblings-Beschäftigungen. Der Fünfzehnjährigen erfüllen die Eltern einen ersehnten Weihnachtswunsch: Sie schenken ihr den ersten Malkasten mit Ölfarben.

Später nutzt sie die verschiedensten Techniken, um ihrem Ideenreichtum Form zu geben. Der souveräne Umgang mit ihnen ist Zeichen ihrer großen Begabung. Entsprechend vielfältig ist ihr Oeuvre. >>

Bis zu ihrem Eintritt ins Kloster fand sie die Motive in ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung: im Elternhaus, in Stadt und Land, bei Freunden, Nachbarn und Bekannten, bei spielenden Kindern und Passanten.

Die Fülle der Arbeiten lässt sich in acht Themenkreise gliedern. Zeitlich sind sie den Jahren des Studiums und ihrem späteren Schaffen zuzuordnen. Zu jedem Abschnitt gibt es Beispiele in der ständigen Ausstellung.

Porträts
Unter den Arbeiten der Künstlerin finden sich besonders viele Porträts. Sie dokumentieren ihre Aufgeschlossenheit gegenüber den Menschen ihrer Umgebung. Stets gelingt es ihr, den Dargestellten in seiner ganzen Persönlichkeit zu erfassen.
Blumenstücke und Stillleben
Eingehende Beobachtung charakterisiert die Blumenstücke und Stillleben. Souveräne Leichtigkeit, differenzierter Strich und markante Farbkontraste geben diesen überwiegend in der Münchner Studienzeit entstandenen Blättern den ganz persönlichen Ausdruck.
Kinder
Berta Hummels Kinderstudien nach der Natur zeigen ihre genaue Beobachtungsgabe. Eindringlich und liebevoll beschreiben sie die Welt der Kinder. Die kargen Formen der späteren Kohle- und Pastellzeichnungen erleichtern die plastische Umsetzung in die beliebten „Hummelfiguren“
Religiöse Themen
Der Eintritt ins Kloster markiert Berta Hummels stärkere Hinwendung zu religiösen Themen. Eine Fülle neuer Aufgaben kommt hier auf sie zu. Sie reichen über Andachtsgraphik und Bibelillustration, Entwürfe für Paramente (Gewänder, Gedecke und Behänge für den Gottesdienst) bis zu großen Andachts- und Altargemälden.
Landschaften und Stadtansichten
Die größte Zahl dieser Arbeiten stammt aus den produktiven Münchner Studienjahren 1927-31. Häufig sind es Motive aus Massing oder dem Rottal: straff komponierte Stadtansichten oder in die Bildtiefe gestaffelte Landschaften. Sie sind geprägt von einem ausgewogenen Farbrhythmus und einem spannungsreichen Spiel mit Geraden und Diagonalen.
Karrikaturen
Von Berta Hummels Karikaturen, meistens kleinformatigen graphischen Arbeiten, sind leider nur wenige erhalten geblieben. Die präzise Beobachtungsgabe, die ihre Porträts kennzeichnet, verbindet sich hier mit einem feinsinnigen, bisweilen spöttischen Humor: Gesehen durch die Augen eines etwa 21-jährigen Mädchens, kann die Welt manchmal drastisch erscheinen. Mit ihrer raschen Erfassung von Situationskomik sind die Karikaturen in gewisser Weise Vorboten der späteren Kinderbilder.
Aktzeichnungen
Die Aktzeichnung gehört zu den klassischen Disziplinen der Kunstschule. Hummels Akte entstammen ihren Studienjahren in München. Sie teilen sich in zwei Hauptgruppen: eine größere Anzahl von Anatomie- und Bewegungsstudien als Übungen vor dem lebenden Modell und eine Reihe von Kompositionsskizzen für die Figuren ihres großen Kreuzwegs.
Angewandte Kunst
Das Ideal, auch Alltagsgegenständen eine eigene Schönheit durch kunstvolle Gestaltung zu verleihen, führte zum hohen Stellenwert der Angewandten Kunst in Deutschland wie in England. Berta Hummels Arbeiten in diesem Feld deutet die Bandbreite der Möglichkeiten an: Firmenzeichen und Monogramme, Karten zum Andenken besonderer Ereignisse, und vor allem vielfältige Entwürfe für Textilbearbeitung, von Tischleinen bis zu Kinderhandschuhen.

AKTUELLE AUSSTELLUNG

VERGANGENE AUSTELLUNGEN